Felipe Drugovich continued his impressive return to MP Motorsport on Day 2 of post-season testing at the Yas Marina Circuit, setting the quickest time so far with a 1:35.614.

The Brazilian dominated the morning session, finishing more than four-tenths ahead of Virtuosi’s Jack Doohan, and PREMA Racing’s Jehan Daruvala, who had gone quickest on Day 1.

Carlin rookie Logan Sargeant topped the afternoon session with a lap of 1:36.155, beating out Daruvala and Hitech Grand Prix’s Marcus Armstrong.


Action resumed on another sunny morning in Abu Dhabi, and it was much of the same as Drugovich, Doohan and Daruvala took up their now customary positions at the top of the timesheet. The trio had led the opening three sessions in varying orders.

Olli Caldwell was amongst the first to get out on track and maximised the available running time in the morning, completing the most laps with 48.
There were several stoppages during the opening session, with Frederik Vesti, Juan Manuel Correa, Guilherme Samaia, Ayumu Iwasa and Sargeant all requiring Red Flags in the three-hour stint.

Doohan finished second fastest on Day 2
Doohan finished second fastest on Day 2

Drugovich narrowly increased his lead at the top, improving on his initial tour of 1:35.663, with a 1:35.614. Punching in the second most laps of the morning, Théo Pourchaire still found time to strap on a new pair of boots and set the fourth fastest lap for ART Grand Prix.

Carlin’s Liam Lawson beat his old Hitech teammate Jüri Vips to fifth, with Jake Hughes’ setting the seventh fastest time with newcomers Van Amersfoort Racing.

Campos Racing’s Ralph Boschung and DAMS’ Roy Nissany were just under a second off the pace in eighth and ninth, ahead of PREMA rookie Dennis Hauger.


A busy afternoon session was led by Carlin rookie Sargeant, who jumped to the top of the leaderboard in the final half an hour with a 1:36.155, while also running a total of 38 laps.

The Williams’ junior was backed up by a familiar name in second, with Darvuala finishing in the top three for the fourth successive session since swapping Carlin for PREMA Racing.

Sargeant topped the afternoon session
Sargeant topped the afternoon session

Lawson had initially set the afternoon pace with a 1:36.802, but the Carlin driver finished in sixth, ahead of Doohan, despite finding a further two tenths around the Yas Marina Circuit.

Vesti, Hughes and Teppei Natori all caused stoppages in the afternoon, but that didn’t stop seven drivers breaking the 50-lap mark, led by Pourchaire with 62.

Correa was half a second off for Charouz Racing System in seventh, ahead of Hughes, Vips and the morning pacesetter, Drugovich.

The final day of testing this season will begin at 9am on Saturday morning.


1Felipe DrugovichMP Motorsport1:35.61435
2Jack DoohanUNI-Virtuosi1:36.07934
3Jehan DaruvalaPREMA Racing1:36.22847
4Théo PourchaireART Grand Prix1:36.25845
5Liam LawsonCarlin1:36.27131
6Jüri VipsHitech Grand Prix1:36.32922
7Jake HughesVan Amersfoort Racing1:36.46516
8Ralph BoschungCampos Racing1:36.55144
9Roy NissanyDAMS1:36.61244
10Dennis HaugerPREMA Racing1:36.61826
11Logan SargeantCarlin1:36.62716
12Olli CaldwellCampos Racing1:36.72048
13Marcus ArmstrongHitech Grand Prix1:36.76618
14Frederik VestiART Grand Prix1:36.87031
15Clément NovalakMP Motorsport1:36.87730
16Marino SatoUNI-Virtuosi1:37.01032
17Guilherme SamaiaCharouz Racing System1:37.02036
18Ayumu IwasaDAMS1:37.16120
19Juan Manuel CorreaCharouz Racing System1:37.34936
20Calan WilliamsTrident1:37.66631
21Teppei NatoriTrident1:37.66629
22Amaury CordeelVan Amersfoort Racing1:37.91621


1Logan SargeantCarlin1:36.15544
2Jehan DaruvalaPREMA Racing1:36.27146
3Marcus ArmstrongHitech Grand Prix1:36.38051
4Dennis HaugerPREMA Racing1:36.42646
5Jack DoohanUNI-Virtuosi1:36.49548
6Liam LawsonCarlin1:36.60848
7Juan Manuel CorreaCharouz Racing System1:36.68741
8Jake HughesVan Amersfoort Racing1:36.78334
9Guilherme SamaiaCharouz Racing System1:36.86445
10Jüri VipsHitech Grand Prix1:36.92151
11Felipe DrugovichMP Motorsport1:36.99249
12Marino SatoUNI-Virtuosi1:37.00048
13Ayumu IwasaDAMS1:37.09442
14Teppei NatoriTrident1:37.15051
15Roy NissanyDAMS1:37.47860
16Amaury CordeelVan Amersfoort Racing1:37.48045
17Olli CaldwellCampos Racing1:37.61051
18Calan WilliamsTrident1:37.90344
19Théo PourchaireART Grand Prix1:38.93862
20Clément NovalakMP Motorsport1:38.99938
21Ralph BoschungCampos Racing1:39.04246
22Frederik VestiART Grand Prix1:39.39650