In a mirror result of Day 1, Kush Maini and Jack Doohan ended the day fastest in the morning and afternoon sessions at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, respectively.

Swapping to dry tyres near the end of a rainy morning session, Maini led for Campos Racing while Jack Doohan left it late to go fastest of all in the dry afternoon session following an earlier spin.

Here is how testing unfolded on Day 2 in Barcelona.


Brad Benavides ventured out in the wet for some early laps and was shortly joined by the Trident duo. Clément Novalak brought out an early Red Flag, running off the track at Turn 2 and getting stuck in the gravel.

Running resumed as the rain became heavier and Jak Crawford was the next to fall foul of the conditions. A spin at Turn 4 left him beached in the gravel, bringing out the second Red Flag of the morning.

With an hour gone, Victor Martins topped the times with a 1:39.969 for ART Grand Prix, the first driver below the 1:40s mark. There was a brief Red Flag after a wide moment for Roy Nissany. The PHM Racing by Charouz driver ran off the track but recovered to the pits, meaning the proceedings got back underway quickly.

Théo Pourchaire posted a 1:39.009 to go quickest of all by nearly a second approaching the halfway stage of the morning session. He improved to break into the 38s, setting a 1:38.945 as the rain began to ease.

A fourth Red Flag came with just over an hour to go after Dennis Hauger spun at Turn 11 and stopped on track. Running resumed for a short spell before another Red Flag, this time for the stationary Enzo Fittipaldi at Turn 6. Once again, the resumption was short-lived after Ralph Boschung spun at Turn 10 for another stoppage with just over half an hour to run.

Back to green flag conditions and the improvements arrived quickly with the track almost dry. A 1:36.311 by Arthur Leclerc put him fastest by 1.5s inside the final 15 minutes. Maini then leapt to the top of the times as he made the switch to slick tyres. He finished the morning with a 1:28.049 to be fastest overall.

default image


Following the rain in the morning, everyone was eager to get out for some dry running. Nissany set the early benchmark to beat with a 1:27.316 inside the opening 10 minutes. Boschung was next to go fastest, setting a 1:26.721 for the top spot.

The first Red Flag of the afternoon came after a spin for Crawford at Turn 9. The Hitech Pulse-Eight driver escaped any major damage after a trip deep into the gravel and a tap against the barriers. The session resumed with two hours and 15 minutes remaining.

Following the morning rain, the majority of the focus in the afternoon was on completing race simulations and logging as much mileage as possible. Running went uninterrupted until a spin at Turn 6 for Doohan brought out the Red Flags with the Invicta Virtuosi Racing #14 stopped on track.

Back underway with just over an hour remaining, Roman Stanek claimed the top spot on a 1:26.500 before multiple drivers took brief turns as the fastest. Novalak, Isack Hadjar and then Fittipaldi each went to the top with under an hour to go.

In the final minutes, Frederik Vesti and Pourchaire traded the top spot. The Dane went P1 with seven minutes to go with a 1:24.466 until Doohan claimed the fastest time, setting a 1:24.318 with five minutes to go, finishing on top for the second consecutive day.

Running resumes for the final day of testing at 09:00 local time.


1Kush MainiINDCampos Racing1:28.04929
2Arthur LeclercMCODAMS1:29.52644
3Roman StanekCZETrident1:35.28734
4Zane MaloneyBRBRodin Carlin1:36.14541
5Enzo FittipaldiBRARodin Carlin1:36.66743
6Jack DoohanAUSInvicta Virtuosi Racing1:37.62633
7Jehan DaruvalaINDMP Motorsport1:37.82743
8Clément NovalakFRATrident1:37.95618
9Dennis HaugerNORMP Motorsport1:38.03444
10Roy NissanyISRPHM Racing by Charouz1:38.09235
11Ralph BoschungCHECampos Racing1:38.29323
12Richard VerschoorNDLVan Amersfoort Racing1:38.75933
13Théo PourchaireFRAART Grand Prix1:38.94522
14Juan Manuel CorreaUSAVan Amersfoort Racing1:39.30835
15Brad BenavidesUSAPHM Racing by Charouz1:39.30933
16Frederik VestiDENPREMA Racing1:39.62931
17Ayumu IwasaJPNDAMS1:39.76434
18Victor MartinsFRAART Grand Prix1:39.96921
19Jak CrawfordUSAHitech Pulse-Eight1:40.13926
20Oliver BearmanGBRPREMA Racing1:40.25823
21Isack HadjarFRAHitech Pulse-Eight1:40.64032
22Amaury CordeelBELInvicta Virtuosi Racing1:41.94714


1Jack DoohanAUSInvicta Virtuosi Racing1:24.31847
2Frederik VestiDENPREMA Racing1:24.46653
3Théo PourchaireFRAART Grand Prix1:24.56557
4Jehan DaruvalaINDMP Motorsport1:24.72239
5Victor MartinsFRAART Grand Prix1:24.86652
6Enzo FittipaldiBRARodin Carlin1:24.87239
7Dennis HaugerNORMP Motorsport1:24.88020
8Zane MaloneyBRBRodin Carlin1:25.20038
9Isack HadjarFRAHitech Pulse-Eight1:25.24438
10Clément NovalakFRATrident1:25.24632
11Juan Manuel CorreaUSAVan Amersfoort Racing1:25.25146
12Roy NissanyISRPHM Racing by Charouz1:25.33352
13Richard VerschoorNDLVan Amersfoort Racing1:25.35644
14Amaury CordeelBELInvicta Virtuosi Racing1:25.40453
15Roman StanekCZETrident1:25.45533
16Jak CrawfordUSAHitech Pulse-Eight1:25.49136
17Oliver BearmanGBRPREMA Racing1:25.49551
18Ayumu IwasaJPNDAMS1:25.51039
19Brad BenavidesUSAPHM Racing by Charouz1:25.51933
20Ralph BoschungCHECampos Racing1:26.7215
21Arthur LeclercMCODAMS1:28.2099
22Kush MainiINDCampos Racing1:30.79420