ART Grand Prix’s Christian Lundgaard continued his strong start to pre-season testing, following up second place on Day 1 with the fastest time on Day 2 in Sakhir. The Alpine junior set the quickest lap of the tests so far in the morning session, his time of 1:41.697 more than three tenths faster than Trident rookie Bent Viscaal in second.


Lundgaard’s name was a familiar presence at the top of the timesheets in the morning as the ART ace kicked into gear and swiftly set the fastest of the opening laps. The Dane’s time of 1:43.514 was just the start as he later cemented his position in P1 with the only sub-1m 42s lap of the morning.

There was a brief stoppage between those two laps as Alessio Deledda was forced to pull over at the final corner with mechanical issues. When things got back underway, Théo Pourchaire managed to climb as high as third, before falling to seventh as he begun a programme of long runs.

Fellow rookie Viscaal managed one better than his former Formula 3 rival, sneaking into second behind Lundgaard towards the midway point of the session. The Dutchman is desperate to impress those at Trident, in the hope of extending his current one-round deal at the Italian side, and did his chances no harm with a solid stint, lapping at 1:42.697.

Marcus Armstrong was looking more at home with DAMS on the second morning, bettering his P9 finish on Monday morning by breaking into the top three, just one hundredth off the marker for P2. The Kiwi’s Ferrari junior rival Robert Shwarztman was in and amongst it himself, breaking into the top five for the first time this pre-season.

Two of Red Bull’s hopes for the 2021 season, Liam Lawson and Jüri Vips, both made the top 10 with Hitech Grand Prix, sandwiching Shwarztman in fourth and sixth. Roy Nissany, Oscar Piastri and Marino Sato completed the top 10 as the drivers headed in for lunch.

Ticktum topped the timesheets in the afternoon session
Ticktum topped the timesheets in the afternoon session


With a number of teams getting in a qualifying simulation during the morning session, attention was focused on longer-runs and data gathering in the afternoon. Just 13 cars headed out when the lights went green, with Guilherme Samaia running the fastest of these.

A red flag disrupted the running after Gianluca Petecof stopped at Turn 13, before action resumed and the remainder of the field headed out for a taste of the track. Times were still well below the morning, as Richard Verschoor set the standard at 1:45.018. The Dutchman did manage to improve with a lap of 1:44.051, before dropping down to seventh.

There were two further red flags during the afternoon, with Lawson and Guanyu Zhou both stopping on track. Both managed to get back out there, with Zhou recovering to finish third.

A flurry of final laps when saw Dan Ticktum take control of the timesheet, breaking the 1m 44s barrier to go first. His Carlin teammate Jehan Daruvala followed suit, but couldn’t quite match the Briton’s effort, missing out on by just 0.003s.

Samaia found the time for a late lap to take him as high as fourth, ahead of Felipe Drugovich and Ralph Boschung. Petecof recovered from his earlier struggles to break into the top 10 and finish the afternoon in eighth, despite lapping just 10 times. Day 1’s top driver, David Beckmann finished ninth, as Bent Viscaal completed the top 10.

We’ll be back for Day 3 on Wednesday at 9am (local time).


1Christian LundgaardART Grand Prix1:41.69739
2Bent ViscaalTrident1:42.02828
3Marcus ArmstrongDAMS1:42.03826
4Liam LawsonHitech Grand Prix1:42.25628
5Robert ShwartzmanPREMA Racing1:42.25727
6Jüri VipsHitech Grand Prix1:42.29922
7Théo PourchaireART Grand Prix1:42.34742
8Roy NissanyDAMS1:42.41931
9Oscar PiastriPREMA Racing1:42.46232
10Marino SatoTrident1:42.99727
11Dan TicktumCarlin1:43.15835
12Ralph BoschungCampos Racing1:43.20640
13Jehan DaruvalaCarlin1:43.61635
14David BeckmannCharouz Racing System1:43.95448
15Guanyu ZhouUNI-Virtuosi1:43.99738
16Lirim ZendeliMP Motorsport1:44.34631
17Richard VerschoorMP Motorsport1:44.48531
18Guilherme SamaiaCharouz Racing System1:44.57550
19Gianluca PetecofCampos Racing1:45.41933
20Felipe DrugovichUNI-Virtuosi1:45.86546
21Matteo NanniniHWA RACELAB1:45.86520
22Alessio DeleddaHWA RACELAB1:46.41313


1Dan TicktumCarlin1:42.18536
2Jehan DaruvalaCarlin1:42.61936
3Guanyu ZhouUNI-Virtuosi1:43.11430
4Guilherme SamaiaCharouz Racing System1:43.12940
5Felipe DrugovichUNI-Virtuosi1:43.19434
6Ralph BoschungCampos Racing1:44.32025
7Richard VerschoorMP Motorsport1:44.33520
8Gianluca PetecofCampos Racing1:44.56910
9David BeckmannCharouz Racing System1:44.64019
10Bent ViscaalTrident1:44.87942
11Lirim ZendeliMP Motorsport1:45.05221
12Christian LundgaardART Grand Prix1:46.91345
13Théo PourchaireART Grand Prix1:47.42947
14Jüri VipsHitech Grand Prix1:47.49747
15Robert ShwartzmanPREMA Racing1:47.61433
16Marcus ArmstrongDAMS1:47.90044
17Alessio DeleddaHWA RACELAB1:47.90430
18Liam LawsonHitech Grand Prix1:48.81439
19Roy NissanyDAMS1:48.97442
20Marino SatoTrident1:49.50130
21Oscar PiastriPREMA Racing1:49.82432
22Matteo NanniniHWA RACELAB1:50.44518