Jehan Daruvala finished as the fastest driver on Day 1 of post-season testing at the Yas Marina Circuit, beating MP Motorsport’s Felipe Drugovich and Virtuosi rookie Jack Doohan, with a time of 1:35.793.

The Red Bull junior was making his return to PREMA Racing, the team he challenged for the Formula 3 title with in 2019. Having finished second fastest to Drugovich in the morning session, Daruvala edged out the Brazilian in the afternoon by more than three tenths. F3 vice-champion Doohan finished third in both sessions to continue his impressive start to life in Formula 2.


On his return to MP Motorsport, after a season with Virtuosi, Drugovich set the benchmark during the opening 30 minutes, posting a 1:35.577. The Brazilian headed Daruvala on a cool morning in Yas Marina, with the Indian swapping Carlin for PREMA.

There were several Red Flags during the opening session, with Clément Novalak, Amaury Cordeel, Frederick Vesti and Théo Pourchaire all stopping on track at various points, as well as a coming together between Jüri Vips and Dennis Hauger.

Drugovich topped the morning session and finished second overall
Drugovich topped the morning session and finished second overall

Vips had briefly set the third fastest time, but fell to sixth following the collision, as Virtuosi’s Doohan jumped to third, ahead of Carlin’s Liam Lawson. Ralph Boschung completed the top five with Campos Racing, while also running the most laps of the morning, punching in a total of 47.

The second Carlin of Logan Sargeant finished seventh, with DAMS’ Roy Nissany, Van Amersfoort Racing’s Jake Hughes and Virtuosi’s Marino Sato completing the top 10.


There were two stoppages in the early stages of the afternoon, with Cordeel and Vips both requiring red flags, but overall, a lot more running time for the field. Sixteen drivers broke the 40-lap barrier, six set more than 50, and Carlin duo Sargeant and Lawson posted more than a 120 between them.

Olli Caldwell was the early pacesetter for Campos with a 1:40.217, before getting replaced by the Daruvala at the top of the order. ART Grand Prix’s Frederik Vesti took the times below 1m 38s for the first time, before seeing Daruvala drop a 1:36.063 to return to P1.

Drugovich and Pourchaire briefly bumped the PREMA down to second, but Daruvala managed to find a further three tenths to return to the top of the leaderboard. Doohan muscled his way into third to finish as the quickest rookie for the second session in a row.

Doohan was the quickest rookie in both sessions
Doohan was the quickest rookie in both sessions

Pourchaire held on to fourth, ahead of Boschung. Calan Williams was the second-highest rookie, running just under a second off the pace for Trident in P6.

A late lap from Nissany put him in seventh, ahead of Juan Manuel Correa, who was making his F2 return with Charouz Racing System.

Vesti finished in eighth, despite stopping on track at the end of the session. He beat out 2021 F3 champion Dennis Hauger.

Testing will resume at 9am local time on Friday.


1Felipe DrugovichMP Motorsport1:35.57731
2Jehan DaruvalaPREMA Racing1:35.62226
3Jack DoohanUNI-Virtuosi1:36.05541
4Liam LawsonCarlin1:36.20829
5Ralph BoschungCampos Racing1:36.48247
6Jüri VipsHitech Grand Prix1:36.57119
7Logan SargeantCarlin1:36.59930
8Roy NissanyDAMS1:36.64335
9Jake HughesVan Amersfoort Racing1:36.70823
10Marino SatoUNI-Virtuosi1:36.71834
11Marcus ArmstrongHitech Grand Prix1:36.73333
12Ayumu IwasaDAMS1:37.01842
13Dennis HaugerPREMA Racing1:37.02320
14Olli CaldwellCampos Racing1:37.03327
15Clément NovalakMP Motorsport1:37.06926
16Calan WilliamsTrident1:37.07026
17Teppei NatoriTrident1:37.38727
18Juan Manuel CorreaCharouz Racing System1:37.47237
19Guilherme SamaiaCharouz Racing System1:37.56627
20Théo PourchaireART Grand Prix1:37.67712
21Amaury CordeelVan Amersfoort Racing1:38.88728
22Frederik VestiDAMS1:39.69413


Jehan DaruvalaPREMA Racing1:35.43546
Felipe DrugovichMP Motorsport1:35.79344
Jack DoohanVirtuosi1:35.85144
Théo PourchaireART Grand Prix1:35.98146
Ralph BoschungCampos Racing1:36.34033
Calan WilliamsTrident1:36.70548
Roy NissanyDAMS1:36.85941
Juan Manuel CorreaCharouz Racing System1:36.88634
Frederik VestiART Grand Prix1:36.91245
Dennis HaugerPREMA Racing1:36.96044
Olli CaldwellCampos Racing1:37.03144
Guilherme SamaiaCharouz Racing System1:37.07340
Jake HughesVan Amersfoort Racing1:37.07752
Ayumu IwasaDAMS1:37.54738
Teppei NatoriTrident1:37.66051
Jüri VipsHitech Grand Prix1:38.46428
Logan SargeantCarlin1:38.70963
Liam LawsonCarlin1:38.90864
Clément NovalakMP Motorsport1:39.09636
Marcus ArmstrongHitech Grand Prix1:39.34452
Marino SatoVirtuosi1:39.45153
Amaury CordeelVan Amersfoort Racing1:40.97313