Three drivers have received penalties following today’s split-group Qualifying session in Monte Carlo.

Firstly, provisional pole-sitter Liam Lawson has been found guilty of failing to reduce his speed under a single-waved yellow flag. After Felipe Drugovich stopped on track during Group A’s running, the Carlin driver continued to set the fastest overall time. The Stewards determined that he didn’t noticeably reduce his speed, despite seeing the yellow flags and the yellow light panel stationed at the marshal post – with his mini sector time only 0.012s slower than his best time around there. As a result, Lawson’s best lap time has been deleted and his second-best time has been used instead – classifying him in P3 of his group. In addition, he has received a five-place grid drop, dropping him down to P11 for tomorrow’s Sprint Race.

DAMS’ Ayumu Iwasa has also been awarded a 10-place grid penalty, after failing to abandon his flying lap whilst under a double waved yellow flag at the end of the same session. The Stewards concluded that the Japanese driver failed to significantly reduce his speed and continued to attempt to set a meaningful lap time. Iwasa admitted he hadn’t seen the double waved yellow flags or the light panel. Furthermore, his best lap time has been deleted, demoting him from P2 of his group. Iwasa’s second-best time now sees him classified in P7. With the grid penalty applied, he’ll start the Sprint Race from P20.

QUALIFYING: Lawson leaves it late to set pole in Monte Carlo

Lastly, Olli Caldwell has been found guilty of impeding Marino Sato at Turns 2, 3 and 4 during Group B’s Qualifying session. Whilst on a preparation lap, the Campos Racing driver failed to let the Virtuosi Racing driver through, who was on a fast lap, despite having the opportunity to do so before Turn 3 – believing that the pair were on a similar strategy. As a result, Caldwell has been handed a three-place grid drop for his next race. The Briton qualified in P20 and will now start P21 for tomorrow’s Sprint Race.

Consequently, MP Motorsport’s Felipe Drugovich has now been promoted to pole position – his second pole of the season. Théo Pourchaire remains second for ART Grand Prix and Virtuosi’s Jack Doohan moves up to third.

Jake Hughes will now line up on reverse-grid pole for tomorrow afternoon’s Sprint Race, with Dennis Hauger alongside him on the front row. Jehan Daruvala will start from P3.

default image