PREMA were a familiar name at the top of the timesheets on Day 1 of pre-season testing at Sakhir, as Jehan Daruvala set the fastest laptime ahead of Trident’s Calan Williams and Dennis Hauger.

Daruvala featured in the top four in both sessions, but set his quickest time on a cooler track in the afternoon, finishing five tenths faster than Williams with a lap of 1:42.074.

Carlin’s Liam Lawson had gone quickest in the morning session, ahead of MP Motorsport’s Felipe Drugovich.


Formula 2 made its long-awaited return to action at testing in Sakhir, with DAMS’ Ayumu Iwasa leading the field out of the pits for a gentle eight-minute tour of the Bahrain International Circuit.

After the sightseeing was over, the laptimes began to tumble. Carlin’s Logan Sargeant emerged in first, leading Virtuosi’s Marino Sato and Hitech Grand Prix’s Marcus Armstrong.

There were three delays during the session as Hitech’s Jüri Vips twice stopped on track, while Campos Racing’s Olli Caldwell also came to a halt.

READ MORE: What to expect from Chasing the Dream season 3: Lead protagonists, dune buggy racing and a day trip to Paris

Lawson topped the morning session and finished fourth in the afternoon
Lawson topped the morning session and finished fourth in the afternoon

Lawson took control for Carlin around the midway point and never relinquished it, setting the quickest lap with a time of 1:44.522, ahead of Drugovich, who had returned to MP after a season with Virtuosi.

Sargeant was bumped down to third in the final standings, with Red Bull junior Daruvala in fourth. Virtuosi’s Jack Doohan rounded out the top five, ahead of his teammate Sato.

Armstrong, Jake Hughes, Théo Pourchaire and Ralph Boschung completed an experienced looking top 10. Meanwhile, rookie’s Iwasa and Cem Bölükbaşı posted the most laps, with 26 apiece.


Drugovich was enjoying the familiar feel of his MP machinery and returned to the front of the order at the start of the afternoon session, setting a 1:43.831 to top the table ahead of DAMS’ Roy Nissany.

After two red flags, one each for Vips and Bölükbaşı, Lawson returned to the top of the order. The Red Bull junior’s time of 1:43.498 was enough to surpass Drugovich, despite an improved effort from the Brazilian, who was less than a tenth off. Sargeant continued his promising early form for Carlin by going third.

READ MORE: Return to PREMA felt like the ‘natural choice’ for Daruvala

Boschung compelted the most laps on Day 1 with 58 overall
Boschung compelted the most laps on Day 1 with 58 overall

The timesheet was given a shuffle in the second half of the session as PREMA went on a run of fast laps. Daruvala was the pick of the lot, lapping at 1:42.074 as he continued to look comfortable back in the Italian team’s machinery.

Williams was the only driver to separate the two PREMA’s, lapping five-tenths off Daruvala to go second, 0.012s ahead of 2021 Formula 3 champion Hauger.

Lawson had dropped to fourth at the flag, while Sargeant found the pace to jump ahead of Drugovich for fifth. Armstrong finished seventh fastest, ahead of Charouz’s Enzo Fittipaldi. Vips recovered from his earlier red flag to finish ninth, as Nissany completed the top 10. Ralph Boschung was the busiest man in the afternoon session, completing 38 laps.

The second day of pre-season testing will begin at 11.45am on Wednesday.


1Liam LawsonCarlin1:44.52222
2Felipe DrugovichMP Motorsport1:44.91025
3Logan SargeantCarlin1:45.01022
4Jehan DaruvalaPREMA Racing1:45.10323
5Jack DoohanVirtuosi Racing1:45.18221
6Marino SatoVirtuosi Racing1:45.20423
7Marcus ArmstrongHitech Grand Prix1:45.36312
8Jake HughesVan Amersfoort Racing1:45.42419
9Théo PourchaireART Grand Prix1:45.45116
10Ralph BoschungCampos Racing1:45.52220
11Clément NovalakMP Motorsport1:45.60622
12Enzo FittipaldiCharouz Racing System1:45.6179
13Dennis HaugerPREMA Racing1:45.78321
14Frederik VestiART Grand Prix1:45.82421
15Ayumu IwasaDAMS1:45.99626
16Olli CaldwellCampos Racing1:46.00216
17Roy NissanyDAMS1:46.03722
18Richard VerschoorTrident1:46.56514
19Amaury CordeelVan Amersfoort Racing1:46.57620
20Cem BölükbasiCharouz Racing System1:47.42526
21Jüri VipsHitech Grand Prix2:02.5185
22Calan WilliamsTrident2:05.9454


1Jehan DaruvalaPREMA Racing1:42.07425
2Calan WilliamsTrident1:42.59031
3Dennis HaugerPREMA Racing1:42.59025
4Liam LawsonCarlin1:43.47831
5Logan SargeantCarlin1:43.48331
6Felipe DrugovichMP Motorsport1:43.59031
7Marcus ArmstrongHitech Grand Prix1:43.59037
8Enzo FittipaldiCharouz Racing System1:43.94633
9Jüri VipsHitech Grand Prix1:43.94615
10Roy NissanyDAMS1:44.00330
11Théo PourchaireART Grand Prix1:44.13232
12Ralph BoschungCampos Racing1:44.15638
13Marino SatoVirtuosi Racing1:44.21227
14Jake HughesVan Amersfoort Racing1:44.27125
15Ayumu IwasaDAMS1:44.28927
16Olli CaldwellCampos Racing1:44.44334
17Frederik VestiART Grand Prix1:44.45734
18Jack DoohanVirtuosi Racing1:44.49828
19Clément NovalakMP Motorsport1:44.53930
20Richard VerschoorTrident1:44.77823
21Amaury CordeelVan Amersfoort Racing1:45.64413
22Cem BölükbasiCharouz Racing System1:48.63710