Isack Hadjar was the driver on top on the final morning of 2023 running, earning the fastest time in the #21 Campos Racing car. The Frenchman’s 1:35.958 was the best time of the day, while Dennis Hauger led the afternoon for MP Motorsport on a 1:35.996 to bring the 2023 on-track action to a close.

Here is how the final day of post-season testing unfolded at Yas Marina Circuit.


Juan Manuel Correa was the early pacesetter on the final day of testing, going into the 1:37s until Jak Crawford beat that twice over to make it a DAMS 1-2 after clocking 1:36.551.

MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto was next up to go quickest of all. The Argentinian went just 0.090s clear of Crawford in the opening 20 minutes.

Hadjar had gone second fastest overall with 30 minutes of running, but then went one better to lead for Campos after setting 1:36.180.

The first Red Flag of the day arrived following a stoppage on track from Rodin Carlin’s Zane Maloney. With just over two hours remaining, the session resumed.

Several drivers were able to find improvements including Hadjar himself, who lowered the time to beat with a 1:36.066. He followed that up by becoming the first driver into the 1:35s, furthering his advantage in P1 on a 1:35.958.

A second Red Flag arrived following two separate stoppages on the first DRS straight between Turns 5 and 6. Oliver Bearman and Paul Aron were recovered with over an hour and a half left of the morning session.

There were very few improvements in overall laptimes for the remainder of the session, with longer stints the focus over single lap pace.

One final Red Flag arrived with 20 minutes to go courtesy of Christian Mansell in his first outing with Trident.

Back to green for a final 10-minute dash, nobody could break into the 35s alongside Hadjar, though Rafael Villagómez remained the busiest, logging 55 laps for Van Amersfoort Racing.

default image


The final session of post-season testing got underway but within the opening 10 minutes, the Red Flags were waiving after Oliver Bearman came to a halt at Turn 5. The session was restarted in quick order, though the track remained relatively quiet.

It was Mansell that went to the top before bettering his time with half an hour gone with a 1:37.602 to lead. That was until two quickfire improvements from Maloney, who lowered the time to beat to a 1:37.045 with 47 minutes run.

The Bajan driver was the first into the 36s in the afternoon, improving onto a 1:36.373 with just over an hour and 10 minutes left of on-track action in 2023.

Heading into the final hour of running, it was PHM Racing and Joshua Duerksen that were next best. The Paraguayan driver filtered into second position on a 1:36.872, 0.499s down on Maloney’s effort.

Maloney found yet another improvement to move onto a 1:36.002 while Dennis Hauger then went second quickest for MP Motorsport, 0.235s down on the best time of the afternoon.

The Norwegian wasn’t quite finished though as he dipped into the 1:35s to take the lead from Maloney by just 0.006s with three minutes to go. The 1:35.996 was just good enough to top the session, bringing the 2023 FIA Formula 2 season to a close.

Gabriel Bortoleto ended the afternoon with the highest lapcount, reaching 80 in his #14 Invicta Virtuosi Racing car.


1Isack HadjarFRACampos Racing1:35.95838
2Victor MartinsFRAART Grand Prix1:36.04853
3Enzo FittipaldiBRAVan Amersfoort Racing1:36.07438
4Jak CrawfordUSADAMS1:36.12844
5Kush MainiINDInvicta Virtuosi Racing1:36.25544
6Gabriel BortoletoBRAInvicta Virtuosi Racing1:36.27730
7Zak O’SullivanGBRART Grand Prix1:36.30141
8Andrea Kimi AntonelliITAPREMA Racing1:36.35139
9Joshua DuerksenPRYPHM Racing1:36.40638
10Oliver BearmanGBRPREMA Racing1:36.40739
11Franco ColapintoARGMP Motorsport1:36.42349
12Juan Manuel CorreaUSADAMS1:36.60542
13Dennis HaugerNORMP Motorsport1:36.69716
14Paul AronESTHitech Pulse-Eight1:36.75452
15Rafael VillagómezMEXVan Amersfoort Racing1:36.82456
16Josep María MartíESPCampos Racing1:36.96439
17Amaury CordeelBELHitech Pulse-Eight1:37.03652
18Joshua MasonGBRPHM Racing1:37.08639
19Zane MaloneyBRBRodin Carlin1:37.11630
20Ritomo MiyataJPNRodin Carlin1:37.13333
21Oliver GoetheDEUTrident1:37.47727
22Christian MansellAUSTrident1:38.89631


1Dennis HaugerNORMP Motorsport1:35.99640
2Zane MaloneyBRBRodin Carlin1:36.00237
3Joshua DuerksenPRYPHM Racing1:36.87250
4Ritomo MiyataJPNRodin Carlin1:37.26330
5Amaury CordeelBELHitech Pulse-Eight1:37.27147
6Christian MansellAUSTrident1:37.60248
7Paul AronESTHitech Pulse-Eight1:37.70347
8Juan Manuel CorreaUSADAMS1:38.00250
9Jak CrawfordUSADAMS1:38.32050
10Gabriel BortoletoBRAInvicta Virtuosi Racing1:38.32980
11Oliver BearmanGBRPREMA Racing1:38.41568
12Victor MartinsFRAART Grand Prix1:38.54472
13Andrea Kimi AntonelliITAPREMA Racing1:38.56765
14Enzo FittipaldiBRAVan Amersfoort Racing1:38.59645
15Zak O’SullivanGBRART Grand Prix1:38.76068
16Oliver GoetheDEUTrident1:38.78740
17Isack HadjarFRACampos Racing1:38.79168
18Franco ColapintoARGMP Motorsport1:38.99065
19Josep María MartíESPCampos Racing1:39.17867
20Kush MainiINDInvicta Virtuosi Racing1:39.79948
21Rafael VillagómezMEXVan Amersfoort Racing1:39.81753
22Joshua MasonGBRPHM Racing1:40.21839