Frederik Vesti and Richard Verschoor put themselves at the top of the timing sheets during the second day of pre-season testing around the Bahrain International Circuit.

With the field opting to focus their attentions on race simulations throughout the morning session, Vesti set his fastest time of 1:44.234 at just over the half-hour mark. It remained unbeaten to the chequered flag.

Taking advantage of the cooler afternoon conditions, Verschoor claimed the quickest time of pre-season testing so far. His 1:42.140 effort narrowly secured the top spot by 0.008s ahead of rookie Victor Martins and over two tenths clear of Dennis Hauger.


The prime tyres were the compound of choice for Day 2’s morning running. Race runs were top of the teams’ agenda, with the 24˚C conditions similar to what they’ll experience in Round 1’s Feature Race.

Quickest out of the box, Frederik Vesti immediately went up into P1 with a 1:47.123. The Dane wasn’t done, lowering his time by almost two seconds in the early stages of running. Breaking the 1:44s barrier, the PREMA Racing driver’s efforts withstood the test of time, and he finished comfortably clear of the rest of the pack by 1.947s.

There was only one brief interruption, as Trident’s Roman Stanek stopped at Turn 6 with an hour and a half remaining.

In the final 30 minutes of the session, Amaury Cordeel slotted into P2 as personal bests came thick and fast. The Virtuosi Racing driver was shuffled down to fifth by the end behind Ralph Boschung, Arthur Leclerc and Théo Pourchaire.18 drivers totted up over 30 laps, with Kush Maini posting the most with 50 laps on the board.

default image


Vesti once again got running underway in Sakhir, but it was Richard Verschoor in the #22 Van Amersfoort Racing car that posted the first representative time of the afternoon with a 1:45.366. He found himself narrowly ahead of Vesti and his teammate Juan Manuel Correa when Pourchaire brought out the second Red Flag of the day almost an hour into their running.

When the session resumed, Enzo Fittipaldi lowered the benchmark slightly to 1:45.135. Bolting on a fresh set of option tyres, ART Grand Prix’s Victor Martins broke comfortably clear of the field, holding a 2.456s advantage.

As dusk drew in, Verschoor returned to the top of the timing sheets, posting the fastest time of testing so far with a 1:42.140 and pipping Martins by 0.008s.

A final Red Flag was brought out for Clément Novalak with nine minutes remaining, as Day 2 drew to a close with Dennis Hauger slotting up into third ahead of Arthur Leclerc and Ralph Boschung.


1Frederik VestiPREMA Racing1:44.23443
2Ralph BoschungCampos Racing1:46.1817
3Arthur LeclercDAMS1:46.51627
4Théo PourchaireART Grand Prix1:46.63349
5Amaury CordeelVirtuosi Racing1:46.71424
6Ayumu IwasaDAMS1:46.81545
7Jack DoohanVirtuosi Racing1:47.45833
8Enzo FittipaldiRodin Carlin1:47.64841
9Kush MainiCampos Racing1:47.66350
10Oliver BearmanPREMA Racing1:47.92731
11Jak CrawfordHitech Pulse-Eight1:48.06340
12Richard VerschoorVan Amersfoort Racing1:48.06739
13Isack HadjarHitech Pulse-Eight1:48.08240
14Roman StanekTrident1:48.28820
15Zane MaloneyRodin Carlin1:48.34942
16Clément NovalakTrident1:48.43928
17Roy NissanyPHM Racing by Charouz1:48.48541
18Jehan DaruvalaMP Motorsport1:48.49533
19Dennis HaugerMP Motorsport1:48.51033
20Brad BenavidesPHM Racing by Charouz1:48.68536
21Juan Manuel CorreaVan Amersfoort Racing1:48.68842
22Victor MartinsART Grand Prix1:48.75039


1Richard VerschoorVan Amersfoort Racing1:42.14030
2Victor MartinsART Grand Prix1:42.14827
3Dennis HaugerMP Motorsport1:42.37817
4Arthur LeclercDAMS1:42.47333
5Ralph BoschungCampos Racing1:42.48926
6Jack DoohanVirtuosi Racing1:42.52323
7Ayumu IwasaDAMS1:42.61725
8Oliver BearmanPREMA Racing1:42.64030
9Enzo FittipaldiRodin Carlin1:42.65925
10Kush MainiCampos Racing1:42.70023
11Isack HadjarHitech Pulse-Eight1:42.84124
12Jehan DaruvalaMP Motorsport1:42.86817
13Théo PourchaireART Grand Prix1:42.86814
14Jak CrawfordHitech Pulse-Eight1:42.98922
15Frederik VestiPREMA Racing1:42.99131
16Roy NissanyPHM Racing by Charouz1:43.09925
17Zane MaloneyRodin Carlin1:43.28226
18Roman StanekTrident1:43.35329
19Juan Manuel CorreaVan Amersfoort Racing1:43.46334
20Amaury CordeelVirtuosi Racing1:43.62121
21Brad BenavidesPHM Racing by Charouz1:43.62532
22Clement NovalakTrident1:46.9837