Formula 2’s latest race winner Jehan Daruvala picked up from where he left off in Sakhir, topping the first day of post-season testing. The Red Bull junior finished 0.106s faster than his Carlin teammate Dan Ticktum, while Louis Delétraz completed the top three with MP Motorsport.

A handful of drivers managed to get an install lap in before running was brought to a halt by the Bahrain International Circuit, so that they could ensure that all the appropriate marshalling and safety support was in place. The session resumed at 1.30pm, with a new finishing time of 6.30pm and no break in-between.

Formula 3 title challenger Logan Sargeant was amongst the first to get out and stretch his legs with Campos, setting the initial pace at 1:44.715, before action was paused once more when Matteo Nannini stopped in the gravel at Turn 3.

There were further red flags when David Beckmann and Clement Novalak stopped on track, after Callum Ilott had clambered up the order. The Briton was assisting Charouz on Day 1 and took the time down to 1:43.360, before eventually finishing in sixth.

Daruvala and Delétraz were tussling for second at one point, before the Red Bull junior found some extra pace and leapt to P1, becoming the first driver to dip under 1m 43s.

Piastri finished as the highest placed rookie on Day 1 setting the 5th quickest time
Piastri finished as the highest placed rookie on Day 1, setting the 5th quickest time

F3 Champion Oscar Piastri found his feet at the two-hour mark, taking PREMA to the top of the table by five tenths, the PREMA man ended his debut in fifth as the highest placed rookie. There were three further stoppages, with Beckmann, Ralph Boschung and Sargeant all coming to a halt on track throughout the afternoon.

Daruvala and Delétraz picked up their battle at the top of the timesheets in the final 90 minutes, as the Swiss took first for a period, before the Indian broke the 1m 42s barrier with Carlin.

Daruvala was joined at the top by his Carlin teammate for the day, Dan Ticktum. The Briton dipping into second and pushing Deletraz down to third.

PREMA’s Robert Shwartzman fired ahead of his teammate in the final hour to take fifth, four tenths off the fastest time. Boschung had set a time fastest enough for P7 before stopping on track, with UNI-Virtuosi pairing Guanyu Zhou and Felipe Drugovich in eighth and ninth. ART Grand Prix’s Christian Lundgaard completed the top ten.

The field will be back for Day 2 on Wednesday at 9.00am (local time).

1Jehan DaruvalaCarlin1:41.84852
2Dan TicktumCarlin'1:41.95451
3Louis DeletrazMP Motorsport1:42.25143
4Robert ShwartzmanPREMA Racing1:42.25346
5Oscar PiastriPREMA Racing1:42.42444
6Callum IlottCharouz Racing System1:42.45046
7Ralph BoschungCampos Racing1:42.48053
8Guanyu ZhouUNI-Virtuosi1:42.52060
9Felipe DrugovichUNI-Virtuosi1:42.71857
10Christian LundgaardART Grand Prix1:42.85653
11Liam LawsonHitech Grand Prix1:42.87950
12Lirim ZendeliMP Motorsport1:42.90755
13Juri VipsHitech Grand Prix1:42.97243
14Marcus ArmstrongDAMS1:43.01842
15Clement NovalakTrident1:43.04935
16Theo PourchaireART Grand Prix1:43.07555
17Roy NissanyDAMS1:43.07850
18Logan SargeantCampos Racing1:43.13747
19David BeckmannCharouz Racing System1:43.30943
20Matteo NanniniBWT HWA RACELAB1:43.49741
21Roberto MerhiBWT HWA RACELAB1:44.17933
22Marino SatoTrident1:44.42839