Zane Maloney put Rodin Carlin on top in the morning session, using the soft compound tyres to set the fastest time of the test so far. The Bajan driver recorded a 1:35.783 to end the first part of Wednesday’s running as the driver to beat.

In the afternoon, F3 reigning Champion Gabriel Bortoleto put Invicta Virtuosi Racing on top, setting a 1:36.381 to end up as the fastest driver going into the final day of pre-season testing at Yas Marina Circuit.


In contrast to Day 1’s stop-start opening, on track running was smooth and Zane Maloney went immediately into the 1:36s to take the top spot early on. The Rodin Carlin driver’s time was beaten by newcomer Andrea Kimi Antonelli, who lowered the time to beat to a 1:36.607 on the medium tyres.

Dennis Hauger had been second, but the MP Motorsport driver moved to the top of the times with just under half an hour on the clock and soft tyres on his car.

The Norwegian then improved into the 1:35s, becoming the first to do so during the test, with a 1:35.954. Teammate Franco Colapinto followed suit and went second fastest, 0.159s down on Hauger to make it an MP 1-2 in the opening hour.

Josep María Martí managed to split the MPs, going P2 for Campos Racing just 0.030s down on the top time before Maloney returned to P1 with a 1:35.783.

Victor Martins was next to post an improvement and move himself up the order, going second and just over a tenth away from the Rodin Carlin driver’s effort at the halfway stage.

Long runs became the focus for the remainder of the morning session, with Martins ending up as the busiest driver for the AM session of Day 2. The Frenchman ended up reaching 59 laps by the chequered flag.

default image


Maloney was back at the front to kick off the afternoon with a 1:39.653, leading the way in the opening 45 minutes of running.

That was until the MP pair popped up into first and second places respectively, with Hauger setting a 1:38.280 to lead Colapinto by 0.278.

The first Red Flag of the day came shortly afterwards as PHM Racing’s Joshua Duerksen came to a halt on track at Turn 2.

Running got back underway with just over two hours remaining of the afternoon session. Kush Maini was the first to join the MP Motorsport drivers in the 1:38s, with the Indian driver putting in a 1:38.425 for Invicta Virtuosi Racing to go P2.

Enzo Fittipaldi closed the gap to Hauger further still, going within 0.117s of the top time in the Van Amersfoort Racing #22.

A second Red Flag of the day was out with just under an hour and a half left of Day 2. This time it was Zak O’Sullivan who stopped out on track in his ART at Turn 7.

Back to green flag conditions, Maini went one better than his previous effort to go fastest of all inside the final hour. He set a 1:37.983 to become the first driver underneath the 38s in the afternoon session.

Oliver Bearman then went fastest overall with a 1:37.437 to put half a second between himself and Maini in P2, before Bortoleto went one better, setting a 1:37.206.

He, along with the two PREMAs of Bearman and Antonelli exchanged the lead multiple times in the final half hour of running, but it was the McLaren junior driver that set a 1:36.381 to end the session as the quickest.

Amaury Cordeel was the driver with the most laps completed, ending the afternoon with 74 laps to his name.


1Zane MaloneyBRBRodin Carlin1:35.78338
2Victor MartinsFRAART Grand Prix1:35.88859
3Dennis HaugerNORMP Motorsport1:35.95448
4Josep María MartíESPCampos Racing1:35.98452
5Zak O’SullivanGBRART Grand Prix1:35.99354
6Andrea Kimi AntonelliITAPREMA Racing1:35.99548
7Franco ColapintoARGMP Motorsport1:36.01341
8Jak CrawfordUSADAMS1:36.05441
9Enzo FittipaldiBRAVan Amersfoort Racing1:36.06748
10Gabriel BortoletoBRAInvicta Virtuosi Racing1:36.07252
11Isack HadjarFRACampos Racing1:36.10042
12Oliver BearmanGBRPREMA Racing1:36.10153
13Joshua DuerksenPRYPHM Racing1:36.31842
14Richard VerschoorNEDTrident1:36.37933
15Juan Manuel CorreaUSADAMS1:36.38237
16Paul AronESTHitech Pulse-Eight1:36.59946
17Ritomo MiyataJPNRodin Carlin1:36.63742
18Amaury CordeelBELHitech Pulse-Eight1:36.67944
19Rafael VillagómezMEXVan Amersfoort Racing1:36.86744
20Oliver GoetheDEUTrident1:37.07837
21Kush MainiINDInvicta Virtuosi Racing1:37.16325
22Joshua MasonGBRPHM Racing1:37.26141


1Gabriel BortoletoBRAInvicta Virtuosi Racing1:36.38153
2Oliver BearmanGBRPREMA Racing1:36.89139
3Enzo FittipaldiBRAVan Amersfoort Racing1:36.91947
4Andrea Kimi AntonelliITAPREMA Racing1:36.92354
5Franco ColapintoARGMP Motorsport1:36.97850
6Rafael VillagómezMEXVan Amersfoort Racing1:37.28052
7Kush MainiINDInvicta Virtuosi Racing1:37.50226
8Oliver GoetheDEUTrident1:37.68359
9Richard VerschoorNEDTrident1:37.82243
10Dennis HaugerNORMP Motorsport1:38.28052
11Juan Manuel CorreaUSADAMS1:38.29655
12Jak CrawfordUSADAMS1:38.69364
13Zane MaloneyBRBRodin Carlin1:39.32045
14Victor MartinsFRAART Grand Prix1:39.41366
15Isack HadjarFRACampos Racing1:39.41460
16Zak O’SullivanGBRART Grand Prix1:39.41871
17Amaury CordeelBELHitech Pulse-Eight1:39.46674
18Ritomo MiyataJPNRodin Carlin1:39.63637
19Josep María MartíESPCampos Racing1:39.73058
20Joshua DuerksenPRYPHM Racing1:40.00625
21Joshua MasonGBRPHM Racing1:40.10050
22Paul AronESTHitech Pulse-Eight1:40.35272