Jack Doohan ended Day 1 of in-season testing in Barcelona fastest of all for Invicta Virtuosi Racing, setting a 1:24.177 in the final hour of the day. PREMA Racing’s Oliver Bearman and Frederik Vesti were two-three behind the Australian, who was hard to knock from the top spot with the fastest overall laptime on the first day of testing.

In the morning, Kush Maini topped the timing sheets late on also, setting a 1:24.943 in the final minutes to go fastest from Jehan Daruvala and Campos Racing teammate Ralph Boschung. Here is how the morning and afternoon sessions in Barcelona unfolded.


After plenty of installation laps in the opening 30 minutes, Campos Racing’s Kush Maini delivered a 1:27.101 to go fastest early on. Teammate Ralph Boschung bettered that inside the opening hour, with a 1:26.277 lifting him into P1.

Doohan was next to go quickest with a 1:26.031 before lowering that by a few thousandths to a 1:26.018. The Australian beat that time once again, moving onto a 1:25.723 at the top with an hour and 20 minutes remaining.

The first Red Flag of the day came with just over 20 minutes to go. The MP Motorsport #1 car of Dennis Hauger became stuck in the gravel at Turn 3 after a spin mid-way through the right-hander.

Running resumed with 14 minutes to go of the morning session. Jehan Daruvala took full advantage of the remaining time. He set a 1:24.955 on softs to go to the top before compatriot Maini returned to P1 on a 1:24.943. Boschung was another to improve in the final minutes, moving up to P3, 0.105s off his teammate’s session-topping time.

default image


Running resumed with Trident taking an early 1-2. Clément Novalak’s 1:27.184 put him ahead of teammate Roman Stanek by 0.272s in the opening minutes. Bearman was next to go quickest, 1:26.860 good enough to put him 0.082s clear in P1.

Enzo Fittipaldi put Rodin Carlin top next, setting a 1:26.642 just before teammate Zane Maloney brought out the first Red Flag of the afternoon. The Bajan driver stopped on track ahead of Turn 8 after a spin.

With running back underway, Ayumu Iwasa took over the top spot for DAMS, setting a 1:26.582 with just over two hours of the session remaining. Fittipaldi improved to go within 0.007s of the Japanese driver’s time, while Amaury Cordeel moved up to third, 0.027s back from Iwasa himself.

With a little over an hour to go, Vesti restored PREMA to the top with a 1:26.110. His improvement wasn’t the last, as Isack Hadjar claimed P1 by 0.2s, setting a 1:25.459. That was beaten by Fittipaldi, who became the first driver into the 1:24s in the afternoon. Doohan joined him shortly after, setting a 1:24.486 to go comfortably quickest.

Bearman moved back up the timing sheets to P2 with a 1:24.624, as Vesti put the PREMAs second and third quickest with 15 minutes left of Day 1. Doohan lowered his own personal best to a 1:24.177, almost half a second quicker than his closest challenger.

Running resumes on Thursday at 09:00 local time at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.


1Kush MainiINDCampos Racing1:24.94335
2Jehan DaruvalaINDMP Motorsport1:24.95526
3Ralph BoschungCHECampos Racing1:25.04833
4Jack DoohanAUSInvicta Virtuosi Racing1:25.72334
5Victor MartinsFRAART Grand Prix1:26.13820
6Théo PourchaireFRAART Grand Prix1:26.16919
7Roy NissanyISRPHM Racing by Charouz1:26.23530
8Ayumu IwasaJPNDAMS1:26.27028
9Richard VerschoorNEDVan Amersfoort Racing1:26.29328
10Juan Manuel CorreaUSAVan Amersfoort Racing1:26.35231
11Dennis HaugerDENMP Motorsport1:26.37820
12Enzo FittipaldiBRARodin Carlin1:26.39633
13Jak CrawfordUSAHitech Pulse-Eight1:26.43824
14Isack HadjarFRAHitech Pulse-Eight1:26.54125
15Clément NovalakFRATrident1:26.60642
16Arthur LeclercMCODAMS1:26.62035
17Zane MaloneyBRBRodin Carlin1:26.74126
18Roman StanekCZETrident1:26.76243
19Amaury CordeelBELInvicta Virtuosi Racing1:27.26732
20Brad BenavidesUSAPHM Racing by Charouz1:27.36331
21Frederik VestiDENPREMA Racing1:47.68228
22Oliver BearmanGBRPREMA Racing2:06.90931


1Jack DoohanAUSInvicta Virtuosi Racing1:24.17741
2Oliver BearmanGBRPREMA Racing1:24.62438
3Frederik VestiDNKPREMA Racing1:24.74236
4Enzo FittipaldiBRAPREMA Racing1:24.81037
5Amaury CordeelBELInvicta Virtuosi Racing1:24.90435
6Richard VerschoorNLDVan Amersfoort Racing1:25.05847
7Kush MainiINDCampos Racing1:25.188Cell
8Zane MaloneyBRBRodin Carlin1:25.290Cell
9Dennis HaugerNORMP Motorsport1:25.32554
10Roy NissanyISRPHM Racing by Charouz1:25.43423
11Arthur LeclercMONDAMS1:25.43938
12Ayumu IwasaJAPDAMS1:25.44031
13Isack HadjarFRAHitech Pulse-Eight1:25.45923
14Brad BenavidesUSAPHM Racing by Charouz1:25.50231
15Juan Manuel CorreaUSAVan Amersfoort Racing1:25.64746
16Jak CrawfordUSAHitech Pulse-Eight1:25.77322
17Clément NovalakFRATrident1:26.71811
18Ralph BoschungCHECampos Racing1:26.89328
19Roman StanekCZETrident1:26.93817
20Jehan DaruvalaINDMP Motorsport1:27.45811
21Victor MartinsFRAART Grand Prix1:29.11829
22Théo PourchaireFRAART Grand Prix1:29.29234