Théo Pourchaire started his 2023 FIA Formula 2 season in style. Getting right back into the swing of things, the ART Grand Prix driver clocked in the fastest times of both the morning and afternoon running in pre-season testing.

The Frenchman quickly fell back into a rhythm, going quickest in the morning ahead of MP Motorsport’s Jehan Daruvala. Pourchaire also left it late to claim the top spot in the afternoon, lapping at 1:42.165 in the final 10 minutes of running.


Quick out of the box for their installation laps in the midday heat, Jehan Daruvala got the Formula 2 action back underway around the Bahrain International Circuit.

Ralph Boschung became the first driver to put the first representative time on the board within the opening hour. His 1:45.652 put him over seven-tenths clear of new Campos Racing teammate and rookie Kush Maini.

It wasn’t until the final hour and a half of running that personal best times swiftly began to drop across the board. Daruvala set a 1:45.574 to put the #2 MP car on top before the only Red Flag of the of the morning came out for Rodin Carlin’s Zane Maloney.

Pourchaire emerged out front in the final 30 minutes of running with a 1:45.226, putting him 0.348s clear of Daruvala. The pair remained in that order all the way to the chequered flag. Meanwhile, Oliver Bearman kept himself busy, logging in 37 laps behind the wheel of the PREMA Racing car.

default image


In contrast to their earlier running, Van Amersfoort Racing’s Richard Verschoor wasted no time posting a representative time on the board, going fastest with a 1:46.083 inside the opening five minutes, ahead of Virtuosi Racing’s Jack Doohan.

As the sun set on the Sakhir circuit, times continued to tumble. Enzo Fittipaldi and Zane Maloney momentarily led a Rodin Carlin 1-2, before Trident’s Clément Novalak and Verschoor shuffled the Bajan driver down the timing sheets.

Dennis Hauger took control just over midway through the session, becoming the first driver to break into the 1:44s. He was briefly leapfrogged by his teammate Daruvala before regaining the top spot with a time of 1:44.249.

After one Red Flag stoppage in the final hour for Frederik Vesti, six drivers traded the fastest lap honours. However, it was morning pace-setter Pourchaire who headed the field, going over a tenth clear of Verschoor.

Late personal bests also saw Arthur Leclerc and Ayumu Iwasa secure spots in the top five, while Ralph Boschung found the pace to split the DAMS pair in fourth.

The second day of pre-season testing will begin at 11:45 local time on Wednesday.


1Théo PourchaireART Grand Prix1:45.22619
2Jehan DaruvalaMP Motorsport1:45.57423
3Ralph BoschungCampos Racing1:45.65227
4Enzo FittipaldiRodin Carlin1:45.81620
5Arthur LeclercDAMS1:45.90219
6Dennis HaugerMP Motorsport1:45.90820
7Zane MaloneyRodin Carlin1:45.90818
8Ayumu IwasaDAMS1:45.98117
9Victor MartinsART Grand Prix1:46.08920
10Kush MainiCampos Racing1:46.13120
11Richard VerschoorVan Amersfoort Racing1:46.21714
12Juan Manuel CorreaVan Amersfoort Racing1:46.26620
13Clément NovalakTrident1:46.38811
14Roy NissanyPHM Racing by Charouz1:46.44117
15Oliver BearmanPREMA Racing1:46.78537
16Roman StanekTrident1:46.98713
17Brad BenavidesPHM Racing by Charouz1:47.08521
18Isack HadjarHitech Pulse-Eight1:47.19121
19Jak CrawfordHitech Pulse-Eight1:48.8399
20Frederik VestiPREMA Racing2:06.51425
21Jack DoohanVirtuosi Racing2:19.43020
22Amaury CordeelVirtuosi Racing2:22.44812


1Théo PourchaireART Grand Prix1:42.16535
2Richard VerschoorVan Amersfoort Racing1:42.29329
3Arthur LeclercDAMS1:42.29333
4Ralph BoschungCampos Racing1:42.56928
5Ayumu IwasaDAMS1:42.66925
6Enzo FittipaldiRodin Carlin1:42.73927
7Jack DoohanVirtuosi Racing1:42.75339
8Jehan DaruvalaMP Motorsport1:42.76625
9Dennis HaugerMP Motorsport1:42.78225
10Isack HadjarHitech Pulse-Eight1:42.98721
11Kush MainiCampos Racing1:43.04632
12Clément NovalakTrident1:43.07129
13Jak CrawfordHitech Pulse-Eight1:43.10531
14Oliver BearmanPREMA Racing1:43.23227
15Juan Manuel CorreaVan Amersfoort Racing1:43.37228
16Zane MaloneyRodin Carlin1:43.40227
17Roman StanekTrident1:43.49032
18Amaury CordeelVirtuosi Racing1:44.16528
19Victor MartinsART Grand Prix1:44.32827
20Roy NissanyPHM Racing by Charouz1:44.88825
21Frederik VestiPREMA Racing1:45.25125
22Brad BenavidesPHM Racing by Charouz1:45.76931