The Rules and Regulations

default image

Formula 2 is a one-make championship consisting of 22 identical cars. The chassis are designed by Dallara Automobili, and since 2018 has run the F2 2018 chassis. The power base is a Mecachrome-assembled 3.4L turbocharged V6.


On a Friday, there is one Free Practice session of 45 minutes and one Qualifying session of 30 minutes.

One Sprint Race will take place on Saturday and will consist of 120 kilometres or 45 minutes, whichever comes first (*).

The Feature Race takes place on Sunday morning ahead of the Formula 1 Grand Prix and will consist of 170 kilometres or 60 minutes, whichever comes first (*)

The Feature Race includes a compulsory pitstop in which all four tyres must be changed. Unless the driver has used wet-weather tyres during the Feature Race, they must use at least one set of each specification of dry-weather tyres during the Feature Race.

A schedule will be issued in the leadup to every round to determine timings of each session.

Race distance for Monaco and Sochi will be defined closer to the events (*).


The results of the final classification of Friday’s Qualifying session will determine the starting grid for Sunday’s Feature Race.

The starting grid of Saturday’s Sprint Race will be determined by reversing the top 10 finishers of Friday’s Qualifying session results.


The driver who takes pole position following the final classification of Friday’s Qualifying session will be awarded with two points.

For the Sprint Race, the top eight classified drivers will be awarded 10, 8, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2 and 1 points respectively. For the Feature Race, the top 10 finishers will score 25, 18, 15, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2 and 1 points respectively.

In each race, one point will be awarded to the driver who achieves the fastest lap time, providing he was in the top 10 positions of the final race classification.


The sporting regulations state that each driver will be allocated five sets of dry-weather tyres per weekend. They will have three “prime” specification sets and two of the “option” specification. Each driver will also be provided with three sets of wet-weather tyres.


  1. The drivers are able to use the Drag Reduction System (DRS) as they wish within the designated DRS zones during Free practice and Qualifying. During both races however, the drivers will only be allowed to activate DRS within the designated zones when they are within less than a second of the car in front at the detection point.
  2. During the race, the DRS is available for use after two laps unless decided otherwise by the race director due to poor weather conditions or yellow flags in the designated DRS zones.
  3. The DRS zones will be the same as the ones used in Formula 1 on every circuit of the calendar.
  4. The same safety rules apply: the DRS is disabled at the end of the designated zones, and the first time the driver uses the brakes after activation. No individual developments or upgrades are permitted in the series, and all spare parts must be purchased directly from the F2 championship organisers. Repairs of structural components must be carried out by Dallara in order to ensure integrity.