MP Motorsport’s Richard Verschoor continued his impressive start to life in Formula 2, setting the fastest time of testing so far with a lap of 1:28.280, to put himself at the top of the leaderboard on Day 2 in Barcelona.

The Dutchman was one of the surprise packages of Round 1 with MP, finishing fifth in the second Sprint Race and fourth in the Feature, and has continued in the same vein in the second test of the year, following up yesterday’s top 10 finish with P1.

Ralph Boschung went second fastest with Campos Racing, 0.194s off the leading pace, ahead of UNI-Virtuosi’s Felipe Drugovich.


Starting the day under the sizzling Spanish sun, the morning of Day 2 felt like an opportune time for Qualifying simulations. Sticking on fresh hard tyres, the field initially headed out to get a feel of the circuit, with MP’s Lirim Zendeli setting the early pace at 1:29.440, before being bumped down the order by Boschung, lapping just over two tenths quicker.

The majority of the field switched to medium tyres at around 10.30am, but their runs were briefly halted by a Red Flag after Roy Nissany spun at Turn 3 and found himself stuck in the gravel. Despite the spin, the DAMS still managed the sixth fastest time of the morning.

When the session resumed, Drugovich went top with the first sub 1m 29s time of the test. DAMS’ Marcus Armstrong dove into second shortly after and was backed up ART Grand Prix’s Théo Pourchaire. As more qualifying runs came in, the duo slid down the order and finished fourth and seventh.

Boschung finished second fastest on Day 2 with Campos 0.194s behind Verschoor
Boschung finished second fastest on Day 2 with Campos, 0.194s behind Verschoor

Wearing fresh mediums, the second MP of Verschoor jumped to first, beating Drugovich’s time by 0.246s with a lap of 1:28.280. Before the session was up, Boschung nipped between the two to steal second, 0.194s off the leading time.

Bent Viscaal is bidding to earn a second round with Trident in Monaco and did his chances no harm with the fifth fastest time. Zendeli finished the morning in eighth, ahead of Day 1’s quickest driver, Christian Lundgaard. Liam Lawson completed the top 10 with Hitech Grand Prix.


Gianluca Petecof got things back underway in the afternoon, taking Campos to the top of the timesheet with a tour of 1:30.684 in the early stages.

After a qualifying simulation in the morning, the afternoon was much more focused on longer runs and data gathering, with Drugovich heading into second, 0.153s behind Petecof, with HWA RACELAB’s Matteo Nannini in third.

There were three disruptions in the second session the day, with Alessio Deledda spinning at Turns 12 and 1, while Robert Shwartzman stopped at Turn 3. The Russian was able to get back out there with PREMA, finishing 10th.

Beckmann topped the afternoon session with a time of 129.384
Beckmann topped the afternoon session with a time of 1:29.384

Charouz Racing System pairing David Beckmann and Guilherme Samaia went first and second when things got restarted, with times of 1:29.384 and 1:29.510.

Zendeli followed up a positive morning’s work with another strong showing in the afternoon, diving into sixth between Drugovich and Nannini. Lundgaard was eighth fastest in the afternoon with ART Grand Prix, ahead of Boschung.

The final day of testing will commence on Sunday at 9am local time.


1Richard VerschoorMP Motorsport1:28.28051
2Ralph BoschungCampos Racing1:28.47432
3Felipe DrugovichUNI-Virtuosi1:28.54445
4Marcus ArmstrongDAMS1:28.67035
5Bent ViscaalTrident1:28.67539
6Roy NissanyDAMS1:28.69836
7Théo PourchaireART Grand Prix1:28.76648
8Lirim ZendeliMP Motorsport1:28.80141
9Christian LundgaardART Grand Prix1:28.80549
10Liam LawsonHitech Grand Prix1:28.81040
11Jüri VipsHitech Grand Prix1:28.87253
12Guanyu ZhouUNI-Virtuosi1:28.88050
13Jehan DaruvalaCarlin1:28.88432
14Gianluca PetecofCampos Racing1:28.92937
15Dan TicktumCarlin1:29.01234
16Oscar PiastriPREMA Racing1:29.05925
17Marino SatoTrident1:29.17532
18Robert ShwartzmanPREMA Racing1:29.26024
19Guliherme SamaiaCharouz Racing System1:30.12549
20David BeckmannCharouz Racing System1:30.19444
21Matteo NanniniHWA Racelab1:30.85527
22Alessio DeleddaHWA Racelab1:32.72126


1David BeckmannCharouz Racing System1:29.38437
2Guilherme SamaiaCharouz Racing System1:29.51036
3Richard VerschoorMP Motorsport1:29.95135
4Gianluca PetecofCampos Racing1:30.68445
5Felipe DrugovichUNI-Virtuosi1:30.83759
6Lirim ZendeliMP Motorsport1:30.92833
7Matteo NanniniHWA RACELAB1:31.03340
8Christian LundgaardART Grand Prix1:33.55761
9Ralph BoschungCampos Racing1:34.35641
10Robert ShwartzmanPREMA Racing1:34.36344
11Théo PourchaireART Grand Prix1:34.49759
12Liam LawsonHitech Grand Prix1:34.65849
13Jüri VipsHitech Grand Prix1:34.66851
14Bent ViscaalTrident1:34.71143
15Roy NissanyDAMS1:34.80659
16Oscar PiastriPREMA Racing1:34.90741
17Guanyu ZhouUNI-Virtuosi1:35.05255
18Marino SatoTrident1:35.19645
19Marcus ArmstrongDAMS1:35.27050
20Jehan DaruvalaCarlin1:35.27839
21Dan TicktumCarlin1:35.60739
22Alessio DeleddaHWA RACELAB1:36.17443