Théo Pourchaire ended the final day of in-season testing at Barcelona quickest of all with a 1:23.943, the best time across the three days.

The Frenchman recovered from an early spin to set the pace in a morning session predominantly focused on race simulations. In the afternoon, Roy Nissany led the way for PHM Racing by Charouz and remained fastest after rain fell late on in the final session of the week.

Here is how the final day of testing unfolded at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.


As quickly as the session started, the Red Flags waived for the first time after a spin for Pourchaire on cold tyres. Back underway and it was Enzo Fittipaldi who set the initial pace before Pourchaire put a time on the board good enough for P1. His 1:24.852 was the fastest lap in the opening half an hour of running.

The second Red Flag of the day came after Ralph Boschung went deep at Turn 5 and ran into the gravel. After the Campos Racing car was recovered, the session went back to green and Pourchaire lowered his fastest effort. He was the first driver into the 1:23s over the course of the three days, setting a 1:23.943 to extend his advantage at the top. His time remained unbeaten throughout the remainder of the session.

The order stayed relatively stable for the next hour with the focus on race runs. Ayumu Iwasa improved onto a 1:24.762, putting him third behind the ART duo of Pourchaire and Victor Martins.

Race simulations continued for the rest of the morning session, with Jack Doohan ending up with the most laps completed on 69, in what was a busy morning for Invicta Virtuosi Racing. Teammate Amaury Cordeel also logged the next best total with 68 to his name by the time the chequered flag fell.

default image


Rain in between the morning and afternoon sessions meant there was no rush to get back out on track following the break. Roman Stanek led the way early on before Zane Maloney set a 1:37.435 to top the times after 45 minutes.

There was a Red Flag just before the hour mark after Iwasa stopped out on track in his DAMS. Back to green flag running with an hour and 50 minutes remaining of the test, Jak Crawford was first out on track and on slick tyres. The Hitech Pulse-Eight driver took the top spot briefly with consecutively quicker laps until Roy Nissany took over P1 on a 1:27.626 with just under an hour and a half to go. The PHM Racing by Charouz driver lowered his own benchmark to a 1:26.453 with a little over an hour to go.

Into the final 45 minutes the rain began to fall once again prompting everyone to return to the pits. With the track no longer at its best, several drivers logged more laps in the closing stages on wet tyres though there were no major changes in the order.

The action gets back underway next weekend with Round 5 at Imola, from May 19-21.


1Théo PourchaireFRAART Grand Prix1:23.94347
2Victor MartinsFRAART Grand Prix1:24.59538
3Ayumu IwasaJPNDAMS1:24.76235
4Arthur LeclercMCODAMS1:24.85152
5Kush MainiINDCampos Racing1:25.05039
6Ralph BoschungCHECampos Racing1:25.13827
7Richard VerschoorNLDVan Amersfoort Racing1:25.34661
8Roman StanekCZETrident1:25.53940
9Juan Manuel CorreaUSAVan Amersfoort Racing1:25.81958
10Dennis HaugerNORMP Motorsport1:25.91551
11Clément NovalakFRATrident1:25.98130
12Jehan DaruvalaINDMP Motorsport1:26.23751
13Enzo FittipaldiBRARodin Carlin1:26.25455
14Brad BenavidesUSAPHM Racing by Charouz1:26.34659
15Zane MaloneyBRBRodin Carlin1:26.85055
16Amaury CordeelBELInvicta Virtuosi Racing1:27.44468
17Isack HadjarFRAHitech Pulse-Eight1:27.90540
18Jak CrawfordUSAHitech Pulse-Eight1:27.91134
19Frederik VestiDANPREMA Racing1:28.62841
20Roy NissanyISRPHM Racing by Charouz1:28.92658
21Jack DoohanAUSInvicta Virtuosi Racing1:29.27669
22Oliver BearmanGBRPREMA Racing1:29.47940


1Roy NissanyISRPHM Racing by Charouz1:26.45324
2Clément NovalakFRATrident1:26.66514
3Dennis HaugerNORMP Motorsport1:27.89214
4Isack HadjarFRAHitech Pulse-Eight1:28.42038
5Zane MaloneyBRBRodin Carlin1:28.64416
6Jehan DaruvalaINDMP Motorsport1:29.1358
7Brad BenavidesUSAPHM Racing by Charouz1:29.42421
8Théo PourchaireFRAART Grand Prix1:29.57812
9Jak CrawfordUSAHitech Pulse-Eight1:29.68943
10Frederik VestiDANPREMA Racing1:29.77838
11Ayumu IwasaFRADAMS1:29.79431
12Victor MartinsFRAART Grand Prix1:29.83612
13Juan Manuel CorreaUSAVan Amersfoort Racing1:29.86020
14Roman StanekCZETrident1:30.02038
15Ralph BoschungCHECampos Racing1:30.03836
16Arthur LeclercMCODAMS1:30.85035
17Richard VerschoorNLDVan Amersfoort Racing1:30.92316
18Kush MainiINDCampos Racing1:31.31926
19Jack DoohanAUSInvicta Virtuosi Racing1:35.3179
20Enzo FittipaldiBRARodin Carlin1:36.04614
21Oliver BearmanGBRPREMA Racing1:38.87730
22Amaury CordeelBELInvicta Virtuosi Racing1:40.2615